View Only

Local Winners Announced at the Queensland Landcare Awards Ceremony

  • 1.  Local Winners Announced at the Queensland Landcare Awards Ceremony

    Posted 20 days ago

    Local Winners Announced at the Queensland Landcare Awards Ceremony

    The Landcare Awards honour the remarkable accomplishments of individuals, groups and organisations, young and old, dedicated to protecting the Queensland natural resources and building resilient landscapes for the future. The award winners and their projects are diverse, including climate innovation, community partnerships, sustainable agriculture, youth, and collaboration with First Nations.

    Mary-Lou Gittins OAM, Chairperson of Queensland Water and Land Carers expressed gratitude to the Landcare Award sponsors, dignitaries and special guests, while acknowledging the finalists and winners as landcare champions in their community.

    Ms Gittins said “For more than 20 years Queenslanders have been coming together to celebrate the Landcare Awards program and the outstanding local Queensland groups and individuals who deserve recognition for the work they do to care for our environment and communities. We applaud those involved across 60 nominations in 9 categories for their incredible efforts and hope they inspire others to make a positive impact within our communities.”

    Winners of the State & Territory Landcare Award categories will represent Queensland at the National Landcare Awards to be held in 2025.

    Landcare Australia CEO, Dr Shane Norrish, commended recipients of the Queensland Landcare Awards on their outstanding accomplishments.

    “The Queensland Landcare Award winners have shown an exceptional level of commitment to landcare activities by restoring and protecting the natural environment where they live and work. Their achievements benefit not only our Queensland land and water assets but are helping to create partnerships and build community resilience across Australia. As we come together to celebrate and acknowledge their efforts, we also find inspiration in their hard work, and a reminder to us all that landcare is a collective effort."

    And the Winners are:

    • Australian Government Climate Innovation Award
      • Winner: Grant and Carly Burnham

    • Australian Government Sustainable Agriculture Landcare Award
    • Australian Government Individual Landcarer Award
      • Winner: Judit Roland

    • Australian Government Community Partnerships Landcare Award
      • Winner: Russell Family Park BushCare Group

    • Greyhound Coastcare Award
    • First Nations Landcare Collaboration Award
    • Women in Landcare Award
      • Winner: Janet Mangan

    • Woolworths Junior Landcare Award
    • NextGen Landcare Award
      • Winner: Rosalinde Green-Brinkman


    [City] NSW