View Only

Local winners announced at the ACT Landcare Awards ceremony

  • 1.  Local winners announced at the ACT Landcare Awards ceremony

    Posted 20 days ago

    Local winners announced at the ACT Landcare Awards ceremony

    Winners for the ACT Landcare Awards were announced and celebrated at the 2024 ACT Landcare Awards, held last night at Wildbark, at Mulligans Flat. 

    The Landcare Awards honour the outstanding contributions of individuals, schools, groups and organisations in caring for the land and water in the ACT Region and building resilient landscapes for the future. 

    Over 120 attendees were delighted to attend the awards, which celebrate the leadership, expertise and achievements of the landcare community in the ACT. 

    Landcare ACT CEO, Karissa Preuss congratulated the finalists and winners as all landcare champions in their community and expressed gratitude to the Landcare Award sponsors, dignitaries and special guests.  

    “I’ve heard that judging in some of these categories was really challenging, with very high-calibre nominations. Several judging panels wanted to award two winners for their category or find a special way to acknowledge the outstanding nominees.” 

    “In the ACT, there are over 100 groups and many thousands of individuals who are dedicated to caring for the natural assets of our bush capital. This event was an opportunity to recognise and celebrate the work of some of the most outstanding landcarers in the ACT.  It is inspiring to be part of a movement made up of so many dedicated, passionate, and experienced landcarers.” 

    The contributions of ACT Environmental volunteers have been valued at over $30million to the ACT economy and environment each year.  

    “The winners of the 2024 ACT Landcare Awards will go forward as nominees for the National Landcare Awards to be held in 2025. We have a history of Landcarers from our community winning on the national stage.” 

    The ACT Landcare Awards are proudly supported by the ACT Government, the Australian Government, Woolworths, Landcare Australia, National Landcare Network and Landcare ACT.

    List of Award Recipients: 

    • Australian Government Individual Landcarer Award
      •  Winner: Vera Kurz

    • Australian Government Community Partnerships Landcare Award
      •  Winner: Bush on the Boundary Committee

    • NextGen Landcare Award
      •  Winner: Zoe Stuart McMahon

    • Woolworths Junior Landcare Award
    • First Nations Landcare Collaboration Award
       Winner: Bradley Bell


    [City] NSW